Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Mark Robertson's Avatar
    Mark Robertson Guest

    Default Help: Slipping RA circle on EQ3-2



    Hi folks

    Wonder if anyone else has encountered this problem with an EQ3-2 mount.
    I've been trying for the first time to use the setting circles. The Dec's
    fine. But I find that when I move the scope in RA, the RA circle doesn't
    quite "keep pace" with the slewing of the scope - it slips/sticks, sometimes
    a little, sometimes quite a lot. Essentially, it's currently useless.

    One thing I have noticed is that the RA circle does appear to be very loose.
    I expected it to be a little stiffer to turn when calibrating so that it
    holds its position thereafter. I don't know anyone close who has this mount
    so I can't tell if this "looseness" is normal.

    Perhaps a little machine oil around the rim of the circle - where it enters
    the mount - would help? Think it would be okay to do this?

    Mark



  2. #2
    Damian Burrin's Avatar
    Damian Burrin Guest

    Default Slipping RA circle on EQ3-2

    >sentially, it's currently useless.

    I've had very simular problems with my EQ2 mount. I got so fed up with it I
    bought one of these instead. At £129 with free shipping for online orders
    you can't go wrong.

    The RA and DEC circles are so much better than the EQ2

    Damian


    http://www.dhinds.co.uk/pages/special.php

    --
    Damian Burrin
    UKRA 1159 Level 2 RSO
    EARS 1115
    http://www.ukrocketry.com
    http://www.larf-rocketry.co.uk

    email burrin@ntlworld.com
    email damian@ukrocketry.com
    email damian@larf-rocketry.co.uk
    "Mark Robertson" <mark*NOSPAM*@rhymerproductions.freeserve.co.uk> wrote in
    message news:chppec$pg2$1@news6.svr.pol.co.uk...



  3. #3
    Alex Wilde's Avatar
    Alex Wilde Guest

    Default Help: Slipping RA circle on EQ3-2

    In message <chppec$pg2$1@news6.svr.pol.co.uk>, Mark Robertson
    <mark*NOSPAM*@rhymerproductions.freeserve.co.uk> writes

    Mine does the same. Looking at it from a design point of view, I can't
    see a way that it would work as you might expect. Pretty useless, IMHO.

    It seems the majority of people don't use them anyway, citing a lack of
    accuracy. Better to learn to 'star-hop', with the aid of a good book.
    --
    Alex Wilde
    Motor Sport Photography -
    http://www.cizeta.demon.co.uk


  4. #4
    Mark Robertson's Avatar
    Mark Robertson Guest

    Default Help: Slipping RA circle on EQ3-2

    Good to know at least that I'm not the only one suffering from this.

    Yes, normally I do just star hop to find things. It would be good to have
    the option of using the setting circles. And what is more frustrating, the
    once or twice when they haven't slipped, they have actally been really
    accurated and put something pretty close to the centre of my lowest power
    eyepiece.

    Might try a little bit of light machine oil before tonight.

    Mark

    "Alex Wilde" <awilde@cizeta.demon.co.uk> wrote in message
    news:MiUXHhK$QQQBFw9p@cizeta.demon.co.uk...
    Dec's
    sometimes
    loose.
    mount
    enters



  5. #5
    Mark Robertson's Avatar
    Mark Robertson Guest

    Default Slipping RA circle on EQ3-2

    That is a good deal! I'm tempted.

    Mark

    "Damian Burrin" <burrin@nospamntlworld.com> wrote in message
    news:aq10d.122$rl5.56@newsfe2-gui.ntli.net...
    I
    Dec's
    doesn't



  6. #6
    RobinM's Avatar
    RobinM is offline White Dwarf
    Points: 504, Level: 10
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 46
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    365 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Winchester, UK
    Posts
    1
    Points
    504
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0x 0 Posts

    Default

    H! I have a similar problem with an EQ3-2, just accquired 2nd hand. Upon removing the polarscope housing (it unscrews) the RA circle just dropped out. It has a channel around the edge into which the "set screw" engages. However, there appeared to be no way for it to be fixed to the RA axis. Looking through the set screw hole, you can see 4 threaded holes in the axis as you rotated it through 360. I believe there should be grub screws in these which could be screwed out to engage the underside of the setting circle ring to achieve some friction. If this is correct (?) then I am not sure of the function of the set screw . I failed to find any definitive information on the web but this may lead someone with more experience of these mounts to find a solution.
    Robin

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. ds-2000 mount gears slipping
    By lonelyplanet in forum Meade Telescope Forums
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-31-2010, 02:02 PM
  2. Help! Slipping clutch?
    By beachie in forum Dobsonian Telescopes Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-17-2010, 03:55 AM
  3. Fix for Celestron C11 Slipping RA drive.
    By Barry in forum Amateur Astronomy Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-27-2007, 12:48 PM
  4. AURORA WATCH: Earth is slipping into a solar wind stream
    By Sam Wormley in forum Amateur Astronomy Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-29-2005, 11:35 AM
  5. Help: Slipping RA circle on EQ3-2
    By Mark Robertson in forum Amateur Astronomy Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-11-2004, 06:34 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Powered by vBulletin®
All times are GMT. The time now is 12:22 PM.