Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Serge933's Avatar
    Serge933 is offline Bright Giants
    Points: 8,926, Level: 65
    Level completed: 59%, Points required for next Level: 124
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!200+ Posts Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!1000 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    232
    Points
    8,926
    Level
    65
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 13x 10 Posts

    Default How to use RA Setting Circle



    Well I just found out that my RA Setting Circle on my GEM mount is movable, I can unscrew a little knob and it will move around. Now, I dont know where it was or why its allowed to move around. Can someone tell me the reason for this? It wasnt explained on the manual.

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

    Sergio _Celestron Astromaster 130 with GEM / Galileo 900mm x 60mm Refracter/ Tasco 10x50mm Wide Angle

  2. #2
    Vinnie's Avatar
    Vinnie is offline Guest
    Points: 24,260, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Got three Friends20+ Friends Achievement!First 1000 Experience Points5+ Referrals Achievement!100+ Threads Achievement!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    3,474
    Points
    24,260
    Level
    100
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 682x 362 Posts

    Default

    The best way I know to wrap your head around RA is to open Stellarium and superimpose the Equatorial Grid, then speed the time up a bit. You will see that a star's RA stays constant even though the Star is moving

    Now the RA ring is meant to be able to free wheel or lock down. In the free position you can set it to the RA of known stars that you point at, and it will move with the mount. In the locked position it does not move with the mount.

    This is because while you are actually tracking a star its RA is constant and so not changing despite its movement.

    When you want to move to another object you release the ring so that it again moves with the mount and then you can use coordinates to find another object.

    Oh and I suppose I should add that you need to polar align initially, then go to a couple of known stars to initially set the RA ring

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Vinnie For This Useful Post:

    BobDob (04-06-2009),Serge933 (03-15-2009)

  4. #3
    Serge933's Avatar
    Serge933 is offline Bright Giants
    Points: 8,926, Level: 65
    Level completed: 59%, Points required for next Level: 124
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!200+ Posts Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!1000 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    232
    Points
    8,926
    Level
    65
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 13x 10 Posts

    Default

    Ok this is great info but kind of hard to follow haha, and its 5:30 in the morning.

    So let me see if I got this right.
    When the circle is locked down, it will remain in its place even as I move the mounts RA? And if I unlock it, it will move as I move the mounts RA?

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

    Sergio _Celestron Astromaster 130 with GEM / Galileo 900mm x 60mm Refracter/ Tasco 10x50mm Wide Angle

  5. #4
    Vinnie's Avatar
    Vinnie is offline Guest
    Points: 24,260, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Got three Friends20+ Friends Achievement!First 1000 Experience Points5+ Referrals Achievement!100+ Threads Achievement!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    3,474
    Points
    24,260
    Level
    100
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 682x 362 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Serge933 View Post
    Ok this is great info but kind of hard to follow haha, and its 5:30 in the morning.

    So let me see if I got this right.
    When the circle is locked down, it will remain in its place even as I move the mounts RA? And if I unlock it, it will move as I move the mounts RA?
    Yes, and also unlocked you can slip the ring to any position.

  6. #5
    Vinnie's Avatar
    Vinnie is offline Guest
    Points: 24,260, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Got three Friends20+ Friends Achievement!First 1000 Experience Points5+ Referrals Achievement!100+ Threads Achievement!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    3,474
    Points
    24,260
    Level
    100
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 682x 362 Posts

    Default

    And I have posted a brief tutorial for you here

    Using the Setting Circles on an EQ mount

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Vinnie For This Useful Post:

    Serge933 (03-16-2009)

  8. #6
    Serge933's Avatar
    Serge933 is offline Bright Giants
    Points: 8,926, Level: 65
    Level completed: 59%, Points required for next Level: 124
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!200+ Posts Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!1000 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    232
    Points
    8,926
    Level
    65
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 13x 10 Posts

    Default

    Great! Many thanks, I finnaly know how to do this

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

    Sergio _Celestron Astromaster 130 with GEM / Galileo 900mm x 60mm Refracter/ Tasco 10x50mm Wide Angle

  9. #7
    MigratingCub's Avatar
    MigratingCub is offline Junior Member
    Points: 7,051, Level: 58
    Level completed: 51%, Points required for next Level: 99
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!2 Posts Achievement1000 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2
    Points
    7,051
    Level
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0x 0 Posts

    Default

    okay, so I'm a brand new aspiring astronomer...and I have no idea what this R.A. thing is...I have an Orion Spaceprobe 130 EQ that I got yesterday.
    The RA setting circle is the most confusing part...
    i really hate to sound stupid, but is it supposed to move like the DEC does?
    I can move the R.A. with my fingers and it doesn't stay stationary when i move the RA slow motion control cable like the dec does.

    um...am i just crazy?

  10. #8
    Vinnie's Avatar
    Vinnie is offline Guest
    Points: 24,260, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Got three Friends20+ Friends Achievement!First 1000 Experience Points5+ Referrals Achievement!100+ Threads Achievement!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    3,474
    Points
    24,260
    Level
    100
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 682x 362 Posts

    Default

    Hi MC welcome to the forum!

    The RA ring should have a locking thumbscrew. In one position the ring moves with the mount, in the other it stays fixed but your mount maybe does not have a thumbscrew?
    Last edited by Vinnie; 04-05-2009 at 06:06 AM.

  11. #9
    DizzyGazer's Avatar
    DizzyGazer is offline Guest
    Points: 19,030, Level: 95
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 270
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Got three Friends20+ Friends Achievement!First 1000 Experience Points5+ Referrals Achievement!100+ Threads Achievement!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Concrete, Washington USA
    Posts
    1,428
    Points
    19,030
    Level
    95
    Thanks
    352
    Thanked 236x 178 Posts

    Default

    Serge,

    Don't feel bad, I find it a challenge to understand as well. I've had my Sirius mount for a while now and still haven't used the setting circles. I just get a good polar alignment by pointing her North towards Polaris, and the mounts tracking does a fine job of following along with the RA.

    Mike

  12. #10
    MigratingCub's Avatar
    MigratingCub is offline Junior Member
    Points: 7,051, Level: 58
    Level completed: 51%, Points required for next Level: 99
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!2 Posts Achievement1000 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2
    Points
    7,051
    Level
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0x 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vinnie View Post
    Hi MC welcome to the forum!

    The RA ring should have a locking thumbscrew. In one position the ring moves with the mount, in the other it stays fixed but your mount maybe does not have a thumbscrew?
    Thanks!

    It does but when I screw it tight, what I described occurs.
    When it's loose and I turn the slow motion cable, the telescope doesn't move.


    I really don't want to have to send it back.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. DEC Setting circle is off?
    By RhetoricCamel in forum Astronomy Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-30-2011, 07:07 PM
  2. Help with HEQ5 RA setting circle
    By KathyNS in forum Telescope Mounts Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-09-2010, 07:09 PM
  3. Base Setting Circle and Alt
    By jenniferchristine in forum Dobsonian Telescopes Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-15-2010, 06:02 AM
  4. how to setting circle
    By etool8762 in forum ATM DIY Telescope Making Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-09-2010, 10:07 PM
  5. Issues with setting circle
    By Dale002 in forum Dobsonian Telescopes Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-15-2009, 04:32 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Powered by vBulletin®
All times are GMT. The time now is 09:31 AM.