Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    G-Universe's Avatar
    G-Universe is offline White Dwarf
    Points: 1,160, Level: 19
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!2 Posts Achievement20 Posts Achievement!
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
    Posts
    10
    Points
    1,160
    Level
    19
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 4x 4 Posts

    Default Problems with EQ-6 and Sys Scan



    Hello folks, I'm back after a bit of absence.
    Spring has finally arrived here in Winnipeg, Canada and I thought I would finally get all my astronomy gear (I purchased used over the winter) out and try and take some astro-photos.
    I have had some nice views with the TV NP-101 but have run into serious problems setting up the EQ-6 mount with SynScan version 2.05 which I purchased with the TV NP-101.
    Here is what I am doing. If I am doing something wrong let me know. If you think something is wrong with the mount/or SynScan let me know.

    1. I do an almost perfect polar alignment through the polar scope with the EQ-6 on level ground.
    2. I put the scope in park position, aperture facing toward polaris...
    3. I turn on the EQ-6 and the SynScan controller usually comes on with the message that it is version 2.05... but once in a while I get something like Chinese characters which I do not understand.
    4. I try to do the setup.
    5. I enter the date as stated in the literature: Month day year.
    6. I enter the exact co-ordinates.
    7. I enter the time and adjust for Dayligt saving.
    8. I choose star align for a star visible from the scope.
    9. I attempt to slew to the star...
    Here is what happens:
    A message comes up on Synscan that it is slewing:
    On the screen the numbers increase for the Dec. slewing until they arrive at the proper co-ordinates for the star. The Dec. motor is turning the scope.
    But for the R.A. first there is a flash of a few numbers then the R.A. Slewing reverts to 000 degrees 00' The R.A. motor is not slewing. Thus I do not arrive at the star.

    However if I pretend the star is in the centre of the eyepiece and press enter, I am told : Alignment successful.

    So let me know what you think.
    Do I need a new controller, a new R.A. motor or is there another solution?
    I dread taking this thing apart to install a new motor...

    Thank you for any help you can give me.
    Last edited by G-Universe; 04-09-2011 at 04:44 PM.

  2. #2
    jimt's Avatar
    jimt is offline Super Moderator
    Points: 37,302, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    200+ Posts Achievement!First 1000 Experience PointsGot three Friends20+ Friends Achievement!5+ Referrals Achievement!
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North Georgia
    Posts
    5,715
    Points
    37,302
    Level
    100
    Thanks
    1,338
    Thanked 2,734x 1,769 Posts

    Default

    Can you hear the RA motor running? Maybe reload the firmware for the handset. Sometimes the software gets corrupted in those handsets and you have to reload it to get it sorted out. Just a suggestion to try.

    Jim
    Celestron C9.25. Atlas EQG mount. Canon 500D unmodded, Celestron ST80 guide scope, SSAG, Meade 6.3 FR, Thousand Oaks dew control with Dewnot straps. Zhumell 8/24mm Zoom, 2"Gso Superview 42mm, Meade 2"QX wide angle 30MM, Meade 1.25 EP and filter set. Tasco 10x50 Zhumell 20x80 bino and a few other odds and ends.
    Now where did I put that clear sky button!

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jimt For This Useful Post:

    G-Universe (04-09-2011),Joe Lalumia (04-09-2011)

  4. #3
    ghswen's Avatar
    ghswen is offline Super Moderator
    Points: 165,215, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    200+ Posts Achievement!First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!Visitor Messenger Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Posts
    11,068
    Points
    165,215
    Level
    100
    Thanks
    6,855
    Thanked 7,499x 4,418 Posts

    Default

    Also check to make sure all of the connections are tight. If I remember correctly the handset connections aren't the best.
    Gordon
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.



    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    :
    Explore Scientific ED80CF,
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    254N,
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    ST80, Orion Atlas EQ-g mount, Orion SSAG guider. Baader MPCC MkIII
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    corrector, Vixen 70mm refractor. Lunt LS35THa solar
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    . Skywatcher EQ5pro mount. Imagers: ZWO ASI1600 MM Cool, ZWO ASI174mm-C (for use with my Quark chromosphere), ZWO ASI120MC Filters: LRGB, Ha 7nm, O-III 7nm, S-II 7nm Eyepieces: a few, Primary software: Cartes du Ciel, EQMOD, SGP,
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    , Photoshop, StarTools V1.4
    Blog:
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.



    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.


    ******************************
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    ******************************

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to ghswen For This Useful Post:

    G-Universe (04-09-2011)

  6. #4
    G-Universe's Avatar
    G-Universe is offline White Dwarf
    Points: 1,160, Level: 19
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!2 Posts Achievement20 Posts Achievement!
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
    Posts
    10
    Points
    1,160
    Level
    19
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 4x 4 Posts

    Default

    Thank you Jim and Gordon,
    It seems to be becoming clear that something is wrong with the handset. I can move scope with R.A. and Dec. using the arrows on the handpad and they really move when I increase the rate to 9 but when I go to align objects, nothing happens in R.A.
    Likewise on this version 2.05 there seems to be no way of restoring factory settings.
    A salesman called me and offered me a good deal on a version 3.+ hand controller new. I will probably take it.

  7. #5
    Astro-Baby's Avatar
    Astro-Baby is offline Bright Giants
    Points: 4,167, Level: 43
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 83
    Overall activity: 0%
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    563
    Points
    4,167
    Level
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 503x 262 Posts

    Default

    Version 2 handsets cant be upgraded - I heve never seen one so I dont know if they can at least be reflashed to their original software.

    Handsets on these things can play up especially if they get cold. My old celestron Nexstar handset lost the plot after being frozen out in some very cold weather and it behaved erratically.

    Your problem sounds like a handset problem but it could also be;

    A) Power related - is your power able to provide a solid 12v at 2Amps ?
    B) Power related (again) - the power leads supplied by the factory are almost useless. If it gets cold the lead may choke the current and the connectors can be a bit dicey as well. Get a decent power lead to the scope.
    C) It could be the handset cable - these are notorious for causing weird problems.
    D) Motor control board in the mount may be at fault or the internal connections may be loose or faulty.
    E) Out and out motor failure or gear problems (unlikley in this case I would think).

    And finally the obvious culprit is the handset. Is there anyone you can borrow a handset from so you can try the mount with a different handset ?
    Thirty spokes meet at the nave, because of the hole we may use the wheel.
    A cup is moulded from clay, because of the hollow we may use the cup.
    Four walls surround a hearth, because of the doors we may use the house.
    Thus tools come from what exists, but use from what does not.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Astro-Baby For This Useful Post:

    G-Universe (04-10-2011)

  9. #6
    G-Universe's Avatar
    G-Universe is offline White Dwarf
    Points: 1,160, Level: 19
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!2 Posts Achievement20 Posts Achievement!
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
    Posts
    10
    Points
    1,160
    Level
    19
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 4x 4 Posts

    Default

    Thank you for your reply. I don't know anyone nearby with a handset or cable to test this with. I do have the scope now plugged in with the power adaptor in the house. The same problem re-occurs I will follow up on the other leads. As these older handsets cannot be flashed a new handset would certainly be an upgrade to the mount anyway.

  10. #7
    jimt's Avatar
    jimt is offline Super Moderator
    Points: 37,302, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    200+ Posts Achievement!First 1000 Experience PointsGot three Friends20+ Friends Achievement!5+ Referrals Achievement!
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North Georgia
    Posts
    5,715
    Points
    37,302
    Level
    100
    Thanks
    1,338
    Thanked 2,734x 1,769 Posts

    Default

    Is this salesman that offered you the V3.+ handset a local guy? If he is, take your mount to him , let him plug it in and see if it works. Just thinking out loud.

    Jim
    Celestron C9.25. Atlas EQG mount. Canon 500D unmodded, Celestron ST80 guide scope, SSAG, Meade 6.3 FR, Thousand Oaks dew control with Dewnot straps. Zhumell 8/24mm Zoom, 2"Gso Superview 42mm, Meade 2"QX wide angle 30MM, Meade 1.25 EP and filter set. Tasco 10x50 Zhumell 20x80 bino and a few other odds and ends.
    Now where did I put that clear sky button!

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Moonfish Wide Scan 15mm
    By Ian Piper in forum UK Astronomy Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-27-2005, 08:16 PM
  2. LX200 Drift Scan method
    By Matthew D. Mills in forum Amateur Astronomy Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-11-2005, 01:56 AM
  3. LX200 drift scan method
    By Matthew D. Mills in forum UK Astronomy Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-11-2005, 12:10 AM
  4. drift scan with MX716 ?
    By Mikelb in forum CCD Imaging Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-13-2004, 08:50 PM
  5. What's above Venus on the SOHO scan today ?
    By Lester John in forum General Astronomy Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-28-2003, 06:21 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Powered by vBulletin®
All times are GMT. The time now is 05:18 PM.