Results 1 to 3 of 3
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Smonohan

Thread: iOptron SmartEQ Pro - Can't see through polar scope!

  1. #1
    DoctorRick's Avatar
    DoctorRick is offline White Dwarf
    Points: 38, Level: 1
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 12
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    2 Posts Achievement
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2
    Points
    38
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0x 0 Posts

    Default iOptron SmartEQ Pro - Can't see through polar scope!



    I'm testing out my new SmartEQ Pro, and having a devil of a time. I bought the SmartEQ Pro with polar scope pre-installed. But when I look through it, in daylight, I can't see through it. With the cap off, I look inside and see a blackish sleeve and a steel cylinder (the dec axis) inside the sleeve. I use the handcontroller to slew in Dec and there are two opposites sides of the darkish sleeve that are open and you can see the steel shaft inside. But they both rotate together, and there is no hole in the steel shaft! Doesn't look like it can ever show a star through it. I unclamp the dec clamp and it rotates freely but doesn't rotate the shaft or sleeve. I have no more "degrees of freedom" to explore! The most exasperating thing is, when I pulled it out of the box in the dark sky a few days ago, I was able to rotate on the dec axis, in the dark, and see Polaris. Now, I see nothing even in broad daylight.
    Second problem: when I plug in the power, the red polar illumination light comes on for just an instant and is then off. That happens consistently. Never does it stay on. Is there something I need to do to make it stay on?

    thanks!

  2. #2
    Smonohan's Avatar
    Smonohan is offline SUPER GIANT
    Points: 4,938, Level: 47
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 12
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    2 Posts Achievement20 Posts Achievement!5 Threads Achievement!50 Posts Achievement!200+ Posts Achievement!
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Plano, TX
    Posts
    791
    Points
    4,938
    Level
    47
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 177x 154 Posts

    Default Re: iOptron SmartEQ Pro - Can't see through polar scope!

    You need to release the counter balance shaft as it will obstruct the polar scope view. You will then need to slew the scope until the dec axis is not obstructing the polar scope view.

    Increase your slew speed to 9 or so, otherwise it will slew so slow you think the mount is not working. Regardless of which way you slew the scope (left or right) with the controller, you will eventually see the opening where the polar scope will view through.

    Also, when setting up your mount, there is a polar illumination setting on the controller. At night, You will need to increase the polar scope illumination to see where the reticle settings are.

    I am continuing to learn it as well, but with soooo much rain and clouds, I have only have daylight/indoor tests and no actual night time live use with the mount.

    Hope this helps.
    Robert Westbrook likes this.

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    XT10 and 20x80 Binos
    ES 68 deg. 28mm, 20mm & 16mm w/2X focal extender
    ES 70 deg 25mm & Celestron 8-24mm Zoom lens
    DGM NPB, OIII, VHT & GCE Filters 1.25"
    Canon T5 W/ES 18-55 and 75-300 mm lens

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    Smart EQ Mount
    Amateur Radio Station - KG5JBY

  3. #3
    Bjm's Avatar
    Bjm
    Bjm is offline White Dwarf
    Points: 1,165, Level: 19
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    2 Posts Achievement365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!First 1000 Experience Points
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Bahamas
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,165
    Level
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0x 0 Posts

    Default Re: iOptron SmartEQ Pro - Can't see through polar scope!

    I was having the same problem, and reading this post helped a lot. Here's what I did:

    1. Drop the counterweight bar from its "travel" position so it's fully extended.
    2. Switch mount on and in settings ensure "Eyepiece Level" is set to max and press enter
    3. Use the hand controller to slew the Dec so you can see the polar scope markings
    4. If 12 isn't at the top manually turn the RA until it is. You can then use the hand controller to align the markings (this will not adjust the position of 12 - no idea why)

    Hope that this helps.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Polar scope focusing on the iOptron SmartEQ Pro
    By Robert Westbrook in forum iOptron Telescope Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-19-2015, 06:20 AM
  2. Discussion: Polar Aligning with a iOptron Polar Scope
    By BobDob in forum iOptron Telescope Forum
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 12-26-2014, 09:09 PM
  3. Polar Aligning with a iOptron Polar Scope
    By Astronewb in forum iOptron Telescope Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-17-2014, 04:38 PM
  4. First Attempt at Polar Alignment . . . iOptron SmartEQ Pro
    By nvchad2 in forum Astronomy Beginners Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-18-2013, 05:29 PM
  5. iOptron Polar Scope App
    By Jesse3Names in forum Telescope Mounts Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-15-2013, 11:40 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Powered by vBulletin®
All times are GMT. The time now is 10:20 PM.