Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 13 of 13
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: Auto Guiding and the iOptron Cubes..How to

  1. #11
    wideglide_07's Avatar
    wideglide_07 is offline White Dwarf
    Points: 343, Level: 6
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 7
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    2 Posts Achievement
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    4
    Points
    343
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0x 0 Posts

    Default Re: Auto Guiding and the iOptron Cubes..How to



    Poobie

    What cube and Hand Control are you using?

  2. #12
    poobie's Avatar
    poobie is offline White Dwarf
    Points: 2,982, Level: 35
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 68
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!1000 Days+ Registered Achievement!3 Years + Achievement
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Northport, AL
    Posts
    2
    Points
    2,982
    Level
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0x 0 Posts

    Default Re: Auto Guiding and the iOptron Cubes..How to

    Sounds like you've got one of the new ones. Mine's an old 8401.

  3. #13
    wideglide_07's Avatar
    wideglide_07 is offline White Dwarf
    Points: 343, Level: 6
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 7
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    2 Posts Achievement
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    4
    Points
    343
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0x 0 Posts

    Default Re: Auto Guiding and the iOptron Cubes..How to

    Quote Originally Posted by wideglide_07 View Post
    Poobie

    What cube and Hand Control are you using?
    So, it appears in "upgrading" the hand control and touting it as giving you full control over the mount with your computer, they eliminated the ability to autoguide even though their commander software allows you to enter the guide rate in equatorial mode. In corresponding with customer support their replies have been"you can't autoguide with an alt azimuth mount". They seem to be unaware that their cube mounts can be operated in equatorial mode. Their responses do not bode well for them ever adding the capability back to the new controller or having any interest whatsoever in listening to their users about what they want in a mount. My recommendation is to go elsewhere for a portable computer controlled mount that actually allows "full" control of the mount! I was hoping for an easily transportable field mount with goto and autoguiding capability to operate in the dark reaches of isolated high desert in my state. All the forums I investigated prior to buying the mount indicated the pro could do that, (now I find out with the old controller), and customer support never indicated the new controller no longer had the capability.
    Last edited by wideglide_07; 01-18-2018 at 12:43 PM.

 

 
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Auto guiding
    By Kentuckey in forum UK Astronomy Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-31-2012, 07:46 PM
  2. auto guiding 101?
    By bullitt597 in forum Astro Imaging Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-28-2011, 04:28 PM
  3. CG-5 Auto-guiding?
    By Uncle Peter in forum Telescope Mounts Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-11-2011, 01:13 AM
  4. EQ-5 mount and auto guiding
    By AJin YYC in forum Telescope Accessories Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-31-2010, 07:22 PM
  5. Auto Guiding Progress
    By admin in forum Astro Imaging Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-17-2010, 09:46 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBulletin« Version 4.2.0
Powered by vBulletin«
All times are GMT. The time now is 10:43 PM.