Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    corpusse's Avatar
    corpusse is offline HYPER GIANT
    Points: 44,301, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 0%
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario / St. Joesph Island, ON
    Posts
    1,765
    Points
    44,301
    Level
    100
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked 1,484x 635 Posts

    Default deep sky stacker problem



    First of all let me apologize for continuously posting problems. This one is probably something stupid but I just don't see what I'm doing wrong.

    I haven't used this program in a while, but never had this problem before.

    Select my picture files. Change the dark frames to dark, leave everything else as lights. I have not started to do flats.

    Detect the stars, register the pictures, computer the offsets and stack.

    Everything seems to work, my not overly fast, nor overly slow dual core takes 1-2hrs to process everything. Then after it stacks I end up with nothing. Not a picture out of alignment or other problems, nothing. I'm left as if I had done nothing. If I click on one of the options on the left my file list comes back up, but no stacked image appears. Anyone know what I've clicked and how I correct this.

    Just getting frustrating waiting 2hrs for it to process only to see nothing.
    White Zone home planetary / solar observatory :
    Celestron CGE, Celestron C11
    ZWO Astronomy Camera ASI120MM, Point Grey Research Chameleon mono cam
    Grey Zone wbobservatory.com - future remote observatory
    Celestron CGEM
    Astro-Tech 6" Ritchey-Chrétien , Astro-Tech AT66ED
    QHY8 OSC CCD,Canon Rebel Ti3 - unmodified as of yet

  2. #2
    Dublin sky watch's Avatar
    Dublin sky watch is offline Moderator
    Points: 45,920, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Got three Friends200+ Posts Achievement!20+ Friends Achievement!5+ Referrals Achievement!First 1000 Experience Points
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dublin,Ireland
    Posts
    6,842
    Points
    45,920
    Level
    100
    Thanks
    1,409
    Thanked 2,537x 1,696 Posts

    Default

    I had some thing similar with registack when I first started using it. It turned out the images were going to a defaulted file when the image was completed. I did one image 3 times before I realized what was happening. Does DSS give you an option when finished as to where you wish to put the image?
    Declan.
    Celestron 8"Edge HD SCT.

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    ED80mm refractor.
    Explore Scientific - 127mm f/7.5 Air-Spaced Triplet ED.
    Lunt - 60mm H-alpha Solar-Telescope with Double Stacked 50 Etalon system, B600 blocking filter and 2 " Crayford Focuser

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    star shoot solitaire autoguider.
    Canon 5D Mark II
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    .
    Two men sat behind prison bars,One saw mud, the other saw stars. It's not where you are, it's what you see!!!

  3. #3
    Fuzz's Avatar
    Fuzz is offline Bright Giants
    Points: 11,818, Level: 75
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 232
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    10 Days registered200+ Posts Achievement!First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Silverthorne, CO
    Posts
    469
    Points
    11,818
    Level
    75
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 450x 165 Posts

    Default

    So after DSS goes through all the steps, what does it show in the main image window? It should show the final stacked image. On the bottom (replacing the file list) should be a graph showing the RGB levels (and tabs for Luminance and Saturation). Do you see these?

    Sometimes the final stacked image can be very light (almost fully white). But the data is there. To see the image in DSS, go the Luminance tab and change the sliders (remember to click Apply to actually see those changes). That may let you see the image better. When saving the stacked image (using the Save picture to file command from the left), change the setting below the filename from "Apply adjustments" to "Embed adjustments" -- this preserves the raw data and colors, which you can then adjust yourself in post-processing (e.g. in Photoshop).

    Are you shooting with a DSLR? What format are you capturing in (RAW monochrome, RAW color), and saving in (FITS, RAW, JPG, TIF)? It is best to capture in RAW monochrome (FITS or RAW format) -- you'll get the most detail. It will show up as B&W on your screen without any processing. In DSS, select "RAW/FITS DPP Settings" from the left, select AHD interpolation for RAW, and for FITS, check the "Monochrome 16-bit FITS..." on, select your camera, and AHD interpolation. This will convert the seemingly B&W RAW/FITS files to color during stacking.

    Stacking in DSS is only half the battle. The image that comes out of DSS will look either very dark or very light, sometimes completely featureless. You will have to post-process (e.g. in Photoshop) a lot to get a good final image.

    For example, here is the stacked image of Veil Nebula that came out of DSS after stacking -- looking very bland, and almost no different from the individual frames I captured:


    But there's a lot of data hiding in there. After some processing, here's the final image:
    Visual:
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    8SE
    Imaging: Astro-Tech AT6RC,
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    EQ-G mount,
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    autoguider, Canon 40D
    Location: Colorado Rockies

  4. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Fuzz For This Useful Post:

    admin (05-30-2010),blaise (06-01-2010),Csipx (08-17-2013)

  5. #4
    corpusse's Avatar
    corpusse is offline HYPER GIANT
    Points: 44,301, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 0%
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario / St. Joesph Island, ON
    Posts
    1,765
    Points
    44,301
    Level
    100
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked 1,484x 635 Posts

    Default

    It must be the images I was using. I'm not sure why it would show the rbg levels but no image, and no file list.

    Today I processed other images and it indeed worked. I'm not sure why,,,
    White Zone home planetary / solar observatory :
    Celestron CGE, Celestron C11
    ZWO Astronomy Camera ASI120MM, Point Grey Research Chameleon mono cam
    Grey Zone wbobservatory.com - future remote observatory
    Celestron CGEM
    Astro-Tech 6" Ritchey-Chrétien , Astro-Tech AT66ED
    QHY8 OSC CCD,Canon Rebel Ti3 - unmodified as of yet

  6. #5
    jsondag's Avatar
    jsondag is offline White Dwarf
    Points: 20, Level: 1
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 30
    Overall activity: 0%
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    NE
    Posts
    1
    Points
    20
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0x 0 Posts

    Default Re: deep sky stacker problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzz View Post

    For example, here is the stacked image of Veil Nebula that came out of DSS after stacking -- looking very bland, and almost no different from the individual frames I captured:


    But there's a lot of data hiding in there. After some processing, here's the final image:
    Wow that is awesome, I am new to this. I am decent with photoshop, but not good, I have no idea made the blue pop like that.
    Any advice would be awesome... If you're still around... This is a very old thread.

    This was mine. https://dl.dropbox.com/u/7114643/Final.TIF

    The best I got it to look with PS was... https://www.dropbox.com/s/xtypes7iuapzke8/Final1.png

  7. #6
    mikehager's Avatar
    mikehager is offline Star Giants
    Points: 3,693, Level: 40
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    2 Posts Achievement5 Threads Achievement!Blogger Achievement!365 Days+ Registered Achievement!20 Posts Achievement!
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    High Point, NC
    Posts
    22
    Points
    3,693
    Level
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: deep sky stacker problem

    Though an old thread I have same question, as I've seen similar, mysterious loss of image after stacking, before but not frequently. I'm wondering if it could be from inadvertently grabbing JPEG rather than RAW files, for instance?

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Deep Sky Stacker - Out of Memory
    By DMouse in forum Astrophotography Image Processing Forum
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 05-23-2012, 01:10 PM
  2. Deep-sky stacker: How the heck does this thing work?
    By Cladinator in forum Astrophotography Image Processing Forum
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 02-14-2012, 07:22 AM
  3. Deep Sky Stacker & 7D raw files
    By MLaferriere in forum Astrophotography Image Processing Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-2010, 03:14 AM
  4. Problems with RAW processing in Deep Sky Stacker
    By J. C. Hook Memorial Observatory in forum Astronomy Digital Cameras Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-08-2009, 10:19 AM
  5. Deep Sky Stacker
    By admin in forum Astrophotography Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-13-2009, 10:08 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Powered by vBulletin®
All times are GMT. The time now is 11:58 PM.