Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    lx2008's Avatar
    lx2008 is offline White Dwarf
    Points: 2,219, Level: 30
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 81
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    2 Posts Achievement5 Threads Achievement!20 Posts Achievement!50 Posts Achievement!365 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    western pa.
    Posts
    39
    Points
    2,219
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0x 0 Posts

    Default need help please with Autosuite ( telescope control)



    hi,
    I need help please! if anyone is using autostar suite to control their lx200 scope please respond!
    I recently bought from Meade, a serial to usb adapter. I installed the driver for it. plugged it in my computer
    and it installed the driver correctly.( says Prolific in device mgr.) anyhow when it installed is says" comm port "5"

    I opened the autostar suite. clicked the telescope tab & then com port setup...and here lies the problem...
    there is only 4 circles to select from comm 1,2,3 & 4. how the heck do I proceed from here???

    I don't know how to change the com. port number from 5 to 1,2,3 or 4 or even if you can.

    what happened when I installed the serial adapter?? I am at a complete loss?

    any help would sure be appreciated!!

  2. #2
    Pauls72's Avatar
    Pauls72 is online now HYPER GIANT
    Points: 18,377, Level: 93
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 123
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!1000 Days+ Registered Achievement!3 Years + Achievement
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    LaPorte, IN USA
    Posts
    1,866
    Points
    18,377
    Level
    93
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 646x 498 Posts

    Default Re: need help please with Autosuite ( telescope control)

    Go into Windows Device manager and change the port number of the serial adapter.
    Mounts: EQ1, LXD55, Atlas EQ-G (one with Rowan belt mod, EQ6-Rail and one without)

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    :
    C11, 8" Reflector, 102mm MCT, ST80, W.O. FLT98, 6" RC, Lunt LS50THa/B400
    Cameras: Canon XTi, DSI-C, DSI, ST402, QHY8L, QHY183C, QHY163M, ASI120MC-S (Allsky)
    Some of my Pic's http://www.astrobin.com/users/Pauls72/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1
    Points
    25
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0x 0 Posts

    Default Re: need help please with Autosuite ( telescope control)

    What is your aim to work with the telescope? What do you need it for?

  4. #4
    lx2008's Avatar
    lx2008 is offline White Dwarf
    Points: 2,219, Level: 30
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 81
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    2 Posts Achievement5 Threads Achievement!20 Posts Achievement!50 Posts Achievement!365 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    western pa.
    Posts
    39
    Points
    2,219
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0x 0 Posts

    Default Re: need help please with Autosuite ( telescope control)

    1st - how do you change port #?
    2nd.- I really have no "aim" I just think it would be time saving and less messing around with the hand paddle

  5. #5
    lx2008's Avatar
    lx2008 is offline White Dwarf
    Points: 2,219, Level: 30
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 81
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    2 Posts Achievement5 Threads Achievement!20 Posts Achievement!50 Posts Achievement!365 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    western pa.
    Posts
    39
    Points
    2,219
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0x 0 Posts

    Default Re: need help please with Autosuite ( telescope control)

    Quote Originally Posted by Pauls72 View Post
    Go into Windows Device manager and change the port number of the serial adapter.
    I guess I should add...at a latter time I want to be able to operate it from my office in the house instead of sitting
    out in the obs. in the winter time when I image.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Telescope control
    By Gamewarden in forum Astronomy Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-03-2019, 10:31 PM
  2. Telescope control
    By badbye in forum Astronomy Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-06-2013, 12:49 PM
  3. Who uses OSX for telescope control?
    By Konan in forum Astronomy Software Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-14-2012, 04:02 PM
  4. PC Control of Telescope
    By MustangSally in forum Telescope Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-01-2011, 04:05 AM
  5. Telescope Dew Control with a Fan
    By seal killer in forum Telescope Accessories Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-13-2010, 08:31 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Powered by vBulletin®
All times are GMT. The time now is 11:49 PM.