Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 47
  1. #1
    karateman's Avatar
    karateman is offline Bright Giants
    Points: 12,031, Level: 75
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 19
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!First 1000 Experience Points200+ Posts Achievement!1000 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Accrington Lancashire England
    Posts
    217
    Points
    12,031
    Level
    75
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 23x 15 Posts

    Default Philips ToUcam Pro (PCVC840K)



    Hi,
    Anyone know where you can get drivers for windows 7 for the Philips ToUcam Pro ll (PCVC840K) camera?

    Phil

  2. #2
    karateman's Avatar
    karateman is offline Bright Giants
    Points: 12,031, Level: 75
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 19
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!First 1000 Experience Points200+ Posts Achievement!1000 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Accrington Lancashire England
    Posts
    217
    Points
    12,031
    Level
    75
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 23x 15 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by karateman View Post
    Hi,
    Anyone know where you can get drivers for windows 7 for the Philips ToUcam Pro ll (PCVC840K) camera?

    Phil

    ANYONE .......please


    Phil

  3. #3
    matthewota's Avatar
    matthewota is offline HYPER GIANT
    Points: 17,744, Level: 92
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 356
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience Points200+ Posts Achievement!365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!100+ Threads Achievement!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Riverside County, California USA
    Posts
    1,752
    Points
    17,744
    Level
    92
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 964x 572 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I would suggest contacting Philips for a new driver.
    I have the same camera but I chose not to "upgrade" to Vista as all of my software and hardware works fine under Windows XP Pro.
    Matthew Ota
    10" Meade LX250GPS SCT, 80mm
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    ED80 Achromat, Lunt LS60THaPT H-alpha Solar
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

  4. #4
    creeker's Avatar
    creeker is offline Junior Member
    Points: 6,702, Level: 56
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 48
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    365 Days+ Registered Achievement!First 1000 Experience Points750 Days+ Registered Achievement!1000 Days+ Registered Achievement!2 Posts Achievement
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    15
    Points
    6,702
    Level
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 10x 4 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by karateman View Post
    Hi,
    Anyone know where you can get drivers for windows 7 for the Philips ToUcam Pro ll (PCVC840K) camera?

    Phil
    Hello Phil
    I am in the same boat as you. There are no 64 bit drivers for PCVC840K cameras. Philip's does not support them anymore. I am running Windows 7 home edition in a Dell laptop. I upgraded it to professional edition ($90) so I could run in Windows XP mode. That didn't work for me, my CPU supported the upgrade, but not XP mode. Before you upgrade to professional, there is a test on the Microsoft's upgrade downloads page to see if XP mode will run in the XP mode. If you can get your system to run in XP 32 bit the ToUcam will run. There were only 2 CPU'S listed that would not run XP mode, so you may have one that can. I got my ToUcam to run on an Apple, but the only stacking software for the Mac cost $110. I searched everywhere for a driver for the ToUcam, if you find one, please let me know. Good luck
    regards
    Ed

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to creeker For This Useful Post:

    sxinias (11-21-2009)

  6. #5
    karateman's Avatar
    karateman is offline Bright Giants
    Points: 12,031, Level: 75
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 19
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!First 1000 Experience Points200+ Posts Achievement!1000 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Accrington Lancashire England
    Posts
    217
    Points
    12,031
    Level
    75
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 23x 15 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by creeker View Post
    I could run in Windows XP mode. That didn't work for me, my CPU supported the upgrade, but not XP mode. Before you upgrade to professional, there is a test on the Microsoft's upgrade downloads page to see if XP mode will run in the XP mode. [B]
    Ed
    Hi
    Whereabouts is the test, cant see it on the Microsoft downloads page...can you give a web page address?

    Thanks
    Phil

  7. #6
    creeker's Avatar
    creeker is offline Junior Member
    Points: 6,702, Level: 56
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 48
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    365 Days+ Registered Achievement!First 1000 Experience Points750 Days+ Registered Achievement!1000 Days+ Registered Achievement!2 Posts Achievement
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    15
    Points
    6,702
    Level
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 10x 4 Posts

    Default

    Hello Phil
    Here is the page to download the Windows 7 Home to Windows 7 Professional upgrade. ($89,95)
    Windows Anytime Upgrade and Family Pack Pricing - Windows 7 Team Blog - The Windows Blog
    His is the site for the download to test if your system will run XP in virtual mode. If you can get it to run XP, the ToUcam will work.
    It is option 2 on this page.
    Download Windows XP Mode
    good luck
    Ed

    another option, buy a used or refurbished laptop running XP, they're cheap now.

  8. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to creeker For This Useful Post:

    admin (01-22-2010),karateman (11-22-2009)

  9. #7
    karateman's Avatar
    karateman is offline Bright Giants
    Points: 12,031, Level: 75
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 19
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!First 1000 Experience Points200+ Posts Achievement!1000 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Accrington Lancashire England
    Posts
    217
    Points
    12,031
    Level
    75
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 23x 15 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by creeker View Post
    Hello Phil
    Here is the page to download the Windows 7 Home to Windows 7 Professional upgrade. ($89,95)
    Windows Anytime Upgrade and Family Pack Pricing - Windows 7 Team Blog - The Windows Blog
    His is the site for the download to test if your system will run XP in virtual mode. If you can get it to run XP, the ToUcam will work.
    It is option 2 on this page.
    Download Windows XP Mode
    good luck
    Ed

    another option, buy a used or refurbished laptop running XP, they're cheap now.
    Cheers Ed
    I do have a lap top with Vista on it, but also want to run some applications on my new computer which has windows 7.
    Have to decide on whether to spend $90 now........

    Phil

  10. #8
    steeveecee's Avatar
    steeveecee is offline White Dwarf
    Points: 6,483, Level: 55
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 67
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    10 Days registeredFirst 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!1000 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6
    Points
    6,483
    Level
    55
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 9x 3 Posts

    Talking How to get Philips ToUcam Pro II (PCVC840K) working on Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by karateman View Post
    Hi,
    Anyone know where you can get drivers for windows 7 for the Philips ToUcam Pro ll (PCVC840K) camera?

    Phil
    Hello Phil,

    I had this problem when I switched over to Vista. I'm on Windows 7 now, and have got the webcam working. Here's how:

    1. Go to the Philips website and download the Win7 driver for the SPC900 webcam.

    2. Install the driver software. You may need to reboot.

    3. Go to the folder C:\Program Files (x86)\Philips\Philips SPC900NC PC Camera

    4. open the file Camvid40.inf with Notepad.

    5. Make the following changes... (in the menu select View->Status Bar to see line numbers)

    Edit line 66 to look like this:
    %USBVid.DeviceDesc%=USBVidx86,USB\VID_0471&PID_031 1&MI_00

    Edit line 69 to look like this:
    %USBVid.DeviceDesc%=USBVidXp64,USB\VID_0471&PID_03 11&MI_00

    Edit line 72 to look like this:
    %USBVid.DeviceDesc%=USBVidVista64,USB\VID_0471&PID _0311&MI_00

    6. Save the file.

    7. Open the file SPC900.txt with Notepad.

    8. Edit line 2 to look like this:
    USB\VID_0471&PID_0311&MI_00

    9. Save the file.

    10. In the Start Menu, right-click Computer and select Properties. In the list on the left select Device Manager.

    11. You should see a item in the list with a yellow exclaimation dot and the words Unknown Device. This should be your webcam. Confirm this but unplugging it from the pc - it should disappear from the list.

    12. Right-click the Unknown Device and select Update Driver Software. Select Browse my computer and then Browse to C:\Program Files (x86)\Philips\Philips SPC900NC PC Camera. Tick Include subfolders and click Next.

    13. If all goes according to plan it should detect the webcam and install it. Rejoice!

    I don't use mine for astronomy, so I hope this helps with what you use it for

    All the best,

    Stephen

  11. The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to steeveecee For This Useful Post:

    admin (01-22-2010),bradfrankshaw (11-27-2012),cjb (07-09-2011),fogfire (04-15-2012),PBalu (05-13-2010),WWPierre (08-10-2010),[1ponders] (07-13-2011)

  12. #9
    admin's Avatar
    admin is offline Administrator
    Points: 6,989,798, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience PointsGot three Friends20+ Friends Achievement!5+ Referrals Achievement!100+ Threads Achievement!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    13,468
    Points
    6,989,798
    Level
    100
    Thanks
    18,563
    Thanked 7,912x 3,807 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Thanks Stephen! welcome to the forums!

    did you have the same issue?
    Name: Gus OTAs: ED 100 PRO refractor, Orion ST80 (not the CF), 8" Dob stuck in Canada Mounts:HEQ5PRO Synscan mount, Manfrotto Tripod CAMS: Guidecam Philips SPC900 webcams (4), Canon unmodded-450D DSLR

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.


    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    |
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    | My Astronomy Blog

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.


  13. #10
    steeveecee's Avatar
    steeveecee is offline White Dwarf
    Points: 6,483, Level: 55
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 67
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    10 Days registeredFirst 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!1000 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6
    Points
    6,483
    Level
    55
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 9x 3 Posts

    Default

    Hi Gus,

    Yes - Philips doesn't support drivers for Vista or Windows 7. A while ago I was searching for a solution and found one on a similar astronomy forum. It's a software hack, but it does the trick! Annoying when the company's best advice is to buy a new camera.

    I saw this post whilst googling and thought it might help

    Stephen

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to steeveecee For This Useful Post:

    admin (01-22-2010)

 

 
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Toucam PCVC840K
    By john p davies in forum CCD Imaging Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-05-2005, 01:53 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Powered by vBulletin®
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:28 PM.