Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Astroninja's Avatar
    Astroninja is offline Junior Member
    Points: 7,188, Level: 59
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!2 Posts Achievement1000 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5
    Points
    7,188
    Level
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0x 0 Posts

    Default Question about webcam



    Hi fellas,

    I recently got into this astronomy, got myself a tasco galaxee telescope and some other accessories.

    One of them is "pentaflex ocular electronico". Although I couldn't get it working. I plug in the webcam and install the drivers from its cd but when I try to run the capture program(AMCAP), i get an error "sorry you have no video capture hardware"

    I am using Vista 64bit and could it be that this cam isn't supported by vista ?

    I'll appreciate it if anyone can help.

  2. #2
    DizzyGazer's Avatar
    DizzyGazer is offline Guest
    Points: 19,030, Level: 95
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 270
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Got three Friends20+ Friends Achievement!First 1000 Experience Points5+ Referrals Achievement!100+ Threads Achievement!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Concrete, Washington USA
    Posts
    1,428
    Points
    19,030
    Level
    95
    Thanks
    352
    Thanked 236x 178 Posts

    Default

    Howdy Astroninja!

    Welcome to AstronomyForum! Good to have you with us..

    I moved your question to the Astrophotography Forum so that the members that do AP can address it. (I'm not qualified..LOL)

    Also, be sure and stop by the Introduction Forum and tell us a bit about yourself, and your new scope.

    All the best,

    Mike

  3. #3
    Astroninja's Avatar
    Astroninja is offline Junior Member
    Points: 7,188, Level: 59
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!2 Posts Achievement1000 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5
    Points
    7,188
    Level
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0x 0 Posts

    Default

    Ok will do, thx for the reply.

  4. #4
    star drop's Avatar
    star drop is offline Guilty as Charged
    Points: 14,490, Level: 82
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    10 Days registeredFirst 1000 Experience PointsGot three Friends20+ Friends Achievement!365 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,265
    Points
    14,490
    Level
    82
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 475x 211 Posts

    Default

    Hi Astroninja,

    Welcome to Astronomy Forum.

  5. #5
    FatherGuse's Avatar
    FatherGuse is offline HYPER GIANT
    Points: 14,603, Level: 83
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 247
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Got three Friends20+ Friends Achievement!First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!200+ Posts Achievement!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Tarheel State, USA
    Posts
    2,027
    Points
    14,603
    Level
    83
    Thanks
    185
    Thanked 187x 147 Posts

    Default

    Howdy Astro-N ...

    ... have you checked for an update for your software? ... I am not familiar with that model/brand so I can't help you beyond that ...

    ... I take it that you are getting a camera image, but just can't capture? ... that sounds like software drivers and not actual hardware ... unless there is something special that camera needs ...

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

    Bill - "Recreational 'Stronomer" and "Astro-Junk User" ... EGO lego , proinde EGO operor ...

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.


    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

  6. #6
    Astroninja's Avatar
    Astroninja is offline Junior Member
    Points: 7,188, Level: 59
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!2 Posts Achievement1000 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5
    Points
    7,188
    Level
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0x 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by star drop View Post
    Hi Astroninja,

    Welcome to Astronomy Forum.
    Hey,

    thanks.

    Quote Originally Posted by FatherGuse View Post
    Howdy Astro-N ...

    ... have you checked for an update for your software? ... I am not familiar with that model/brand so I can't help you beyond that ...

    ... I take it that you are getting a camera image, but just can't capture? ... that sounds like software drivers and not actual hardware ... unless there is something special that camera needs ...
    I did actually, I found an update but it doesn't work either.

    The problem is, vista doesn't recognize my webcam. I mean, when I plug the webcam, vista asks me to install the drivers for the webcam, and I do, but afterwards when I try to run the capture program, I get the error "you have no vide capture hardware."
    So I don't get any image or anything, the OP doesn't recognize the webcam, that is the problem.

  7. #7
    FatherGuse's Avatar
    FatherGuse is offline HYPER GIANT
    Points: 14,603, Level: 83
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 247
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Got three Friends20+ Friends Achievement!First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!200+ Posts Achievement!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Tarheel State, USA
    Posts
    2,027
    Points
    14,603
    Level
    83
    Thanks
    185
    Thanked 187x 147 Posts

    Default

    ... Vista is just lovely about that sort of thing ... man I hope you find a work-around ...

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

    Bill - "Recreational 'Stronomer" and "Astro-Junk User" ... EGO lego , proinde EGO operor ...

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.


    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

  8. #8
    star drop's Avatar
    star drop is offline Guilty as Charged
    Points: 14,490, Level: 82
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    10 Days registeredFirst 1000 Experience PointsGot three Friends20+ Friends Achievement!365 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,265
    Points
    14,490
    Level
    82
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 475x 211 Posts

    Default

    Hi Astroninja,

    Have you tried using Vista's run as administrator option while installing the drivers for the webcam? I run into that problem frequently while updating my anti spyware programs.

  9. #9
    FatherGuse's Avatar
    FatherGuse is offline HYPER GIANT
    Points: 14,603, Level: 83
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 247
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Got three Friends20+ Friends Achievement!First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!200+ Posts Achievement!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Tarheel State, USA
    Posts
    2,027
    Points
    14,603
    Level
    83
    Thanks
    185
    Thanked 187x 147 Posts

    Default

    ... see ... an expert ... good stuff Ted ...

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

    Bill - "Recreational 'Stronomer" and "Astro-Junk User" ... EGO lego , proinde EGO operor ...

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.


    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

  10. #10
    admin's Avatar
    admin is offline Administrator
    Points: 6,989,798, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience PointsGot three Friends20+ Friends Achievement!5+ Referrals Achievement!100+ Threads Achievement!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    13,478
    Points
    6,989,798
    Level
    100
    Thanks
    18,563
    Thanked 7,915x 3,807 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Hi Astroninja,
    I usually have a dual boot running on my computer as your 64-bit system and even Vista may cause issues with the driver software (i know that Vista does not work with tons of software actually). If you don't want a dual boot on your HD, there may be a way to set compatibility similar to what Ted mentioned so that you can run it like this:
    How to run software that is incompatible with Windows Vista
    Name: Gus OTAs: ED 100 PRO refractor, Orion ST80 (not the CF), 8" Dob stuck in Canada Mounts:HEQ5PRO Synscan mount, Manfrotto Tripod CAMS: Guidecam Philips SPC900 webcams (4), Canon unmodded-450D DSLR

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.


    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    |
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    | My Astronomy Blog

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.


 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. A webcam question
    By Paul in forum Astrophotography Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-15-2009, 06:40 PM
  2. webcam filters question
    By Bird Baker in forum CCD Imaging Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-16-2005, 10:32 PM
  3. webcam filters question
    By Bird Baker in forum Amateur Astronomy Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-15-2005, 03:49 PM
  4. webcam avi stacking question.
    By Orion in forum Amateur Astronomy Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-06-2004, 03:48 AM
  5. Help: Webcam processing question
    By Lunatiki in forum Amateur Astronomy Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-25-2003, 10:05 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Powered by vBulletin®
All times are GMT. The time now is 01:47 AM.