Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    Astroninja's Avatar
    Astroninja is offline Junior Member
    Points: 7,188, Level: 59
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!2 Posts Achievement1000 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5
    Points
    7,188
    Level
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0x 0 Posts

    Default



    Quote Originally Posted by star drop View Post
    Hi Astroninja,

    Have you tried using Vista's run as administrator option while installing the drivers for the webcam? I run into that problem frequently while updating my anti spyware programs.
    Hi.

    I haven't tried it yet, but I'll do it first thing tomorrow,(gotta go to bed now :/) and I'll report in.

    Quote Originally Posted by admin View Post
    Hi Astroninja,
    I usually have a dual boot running on my computer as your 64-bit system and even Vista may cause issues with the driver software (i know that Vista does not work with tons of software actually). If you don't want a dual boot on your HD, there may be a way to set compatibility similar to what Ted mentioned so that you can run it like this:
    I don't have dual boot but i'll try star drop's method. And thanks for the link, saved it on my fav.


    thanks both of you.

  2. #12
    flyingcadet's Avatar
    flyingcadet is offline Main Sequence
    Points: 7,654, Level: 61
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 196
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!2 Posts Achievement50 Posts Achievement!
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    67
    Points
    7,654
    Level
    61
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 20x 17 Posts

    Default

    Astroninja, sounds like a typical Microsoft problem.

    This is usually how I got around the problem:

    1) disconnect the device.
    2) install drivers.
    3) Reconnect device and test.
    4) if you get an error, then check the drivers for the device using the hardware manager. it will list in the hardware somewhere.

    I don't use Vista, so I'm not much help on the specifics. If the installing the drivers gives you a warning about it not being licensed and/or signed, then ignore the warning and tell it to install anyway.

    flyingcadet

  3. #13
    Astroninja's Avatar
    Astroninja is offline Junior Member
    Points: 7,188, Level: 59
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience Points365 Days+ Registered Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!2 Posts Achievement1000 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5
    Points
    7,188
    Level
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0x 0 Posts

    Default

    I tried the compatiblity settings and run as the administrator option but it didn't work.
    I still get the error message from AMCAP "you have no video capture hardware."

    I plugged the webcam on my mac laptop, and downloaded a software called "macam" seems like a good program and supports many webcams but that didn't seem to work either. When I ran the program, It recognized the webcam(but as a different model I guess) when I tried to start viewing, it said "usb connection error". I plugged unplugged a couple of times, once it worked, pretty randomly but when I unplugged it and re ran the program it didn't work this time. In other words it worked but it was pretty random, which I can't rely on.

    Maybe there is something wrong with the webcam, but I don't think that is the case because both my Pc and mac detect it when I plug it.

  4. #14
    admin's Avatar
    admin is offline Administrator
    Points: 6,989,798, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience PointsGot three Friends20+ Friends Achievement!5+ Referrals Achievement!100+ Threads Achievement!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    13,479
    Points
    6,989,798
    Level
    100
    Thanks
    18,563
    Thanked 7,915x 3,807 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Hi Astroninja,
    I found out that it is the exact duplicate of a Meade LPI... so try out the Meade LPI software for Vista and get the driver update and test with that.
    Name: Gus OTAs: ED 100 PRO refractor, Orion ST80 (not the CF), 8" Dob stuck in Canada Mounts:HEQ5PRO Synscan mount, Manfrotto Tripod CAMS: Guidecam Philips SPC900 webcams (4), Canon unmodded-450D DSLR

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.


    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    |
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
    | My Astronomy Blog

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.


  5. #15
    TambourineMan's Avatar
    TambourineMan is offline Stressed Out
    Points: 12,301, Level: 76
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 99
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    First 1000 Experience Points100+ Threads Achievement!365 Days+ Registered Achievement!200+ Posts Achievement!750 Days+ Registered Achievement!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Born in ME-in exile in MA(S.Shore)
    Posts
    820
    Points
    12,301
    Level
    76
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 139x 86 Posts

    Default

    So far I have managed to avoid Vista like the plague it is. I have a stupid question though. Does your webcam show up under device manager under imaging devices. Is it both Vista and AMCAP that don't recognize it? It sounds like Vista recognizes it at first when you plug it in. Are there any devices that have yellow questions marks in device manager - particularly USB controllers.

    Did you install the software first and then plug the webcam in?

    After the USB connection error message do you also get one that says unrecognized USB device?

    If the webcam is recognized in device manager, in addition to uninstalling it, also uninstall all your other USB devices (to be safe make sure you have any disks/CD's for them or download drivers for them from the internet first (although Vista should find drivers for them all when you reboot and it gives you the found new hardware alert)).

    Have you turned your computer off since having this problem and rebooted?

    Do you have it plugged into a USB port on your computer or is it plugged into a hub. If a hub, is it powered, or can it be powered? Try plugging the webcam into a port on the computer rather than a hub. How many other USB devices do you have plugged in?

    Since this computer is running Vista I assume it is fairly new and has USB 2.0 ports, correct?

    I would also go on the AfterDawn forum and ask about AMCAP there. did you also try installing the Vista CoDec package? Here is a link from a thread there back in June of 2008 of someone with a similar problem:

    amcap driver.....no video capture hardware error message ??

    Here's what someone said:

    Because you haven't finished installing the software.

    Your next step is to plug in your camera into the USB port.

    Make sure the icon appears from the deskbar.

    If it doesn't appear, it will display no video capture hardware.

    So, dun make yourself pain in the a## by trying to open the AMCAP, just then.

    Replug a few times, it will then proceed your installation by copying files to your folder.

    Re-start. And it's ready to use.

    Hope this helps.

    G.

 

 
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. A webcam question
    By Paul in forum Astrophotography Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-15-2009, 06:40 PM
  2. webcam filters question
    By Bird Baker in forum CCD Imaging Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-16-2005, 10:32 PM
  3. webcam filters question
    By Bird Baker in forum Amateur Astronomy Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-15-2005, 03:49 PM
  4. webcam avi stacking question.
    By Orion in forum Amateur Astronomy Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-06-2004, 03:48 AM
  5. Help: Webcam processing question
    By Lunatiki in forum Amateur Astronomy Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-25-2003, 10:05 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Powered by vBulletin®
All times are GMT. The time now is 06:39 PM.